Dr. Brent D. Ruben Award

In 1999, as today, a number of colleges and universities were struggling to become more effective, efficient, service-oriented institutions. No single association brought together the campus leaders charged with overseeing these initiatives, to facilitate the sharing of best practices and to promote these purposes nationally. NCCI was formed to be that association. The Brent D. Ruben Award is presented to a NCCI member in appreciation of their leadership in founding and sustaining NCCI to advance excellence in higher education.

Maury Cotter Leader of Change Award

NCCI’s vision is to function as a catalyst for higher education institutions to work collaboratively across institutions to employ effective methods to advance academic and administrative excellence. To help carry out this purpose, we identify leaders of change throughout higher education to recognize them for their accomplishments, and to help link them with their peers to further leverage the impact of their good work.

NCCI Justice, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Award

This award celebrates an individual or team that has led a change initiative in order to create a more just, equitable, diverse, and/or inclusive environment within their institution that’s impacted their department, campus, and/or local community.

Ron Coley Scholarship

The Ron Coley Scholarship provides higher education professionals with funding for the NCCI Annual Conference. This award advances the professional and personal development of the recipient and provides networking opportunities with colleagues in the profession.

Leveraging Excellence Award Program (2008-2013)

Through the Leveraging Excellence Award Program, sponsored by the Network for Change and Continuous Innovation and Follett Higher Education Group, NCCI recognized initiatives where effective academic and administrative practices had been successfully implemented beyond one department, campus, or institution. While other awards exist to recognize excellent improvements or innovations, the unique distinction of this award program was dissemination or scaling of those improvements/innovations for leveraged impact. We looked for initiatives that have resulted in significant impact on quality, efficiency, service, or learning. This program was operated from 2008 through 2013.