Dr. Brent D. Ruben Award

Dr. Brent D. Ruben Award

In 1999, as today, a number of colleges and universities were struggling to become more effective, efficient, service-oriented institutions. No single association brought together the campus leaders charged with overseeing these initiatives, to facilitate the sharing of best practices and to promote these purposes nationally. NCCI was formed to be that association. The Dr. Brent D. Ruben Award is presented to a NCCI member in appreciation of their leadership in founding and sustaining NCCI to advance excellence in higher education

Past Award Winners

Dr. Ruth Johnston & Dr. Harry Hertz – 2019

Dr. Teresa A. Hartnett – 2018

Dr. David Ward – 2017

Catherine Lilly – 2016

Dr. John Dew – 2015

Dr. Kathryn L. Burkgren – 2014

Dr. Lawrence A. Gould – 2013

Posthumously to the family of Roderick “Rick” Wallick – 2011

Ron Coley – 2009

Maury Cotter – 2008

Louise Sandmeyer – 2007

Dr. Brent Ruben – 2006

Dr. Ruben Speaks about NCCI’s Beginnings

Founding Member Dr. Brent Ruben of Rutgers University discusses how a group of leaders in higher education formed a network to identify common challenges and implement ideas for change and improvement.