Maury Cotter Leader of Change Award

Maury Cotter Leader of Change Award

NCCI’s vision is to function as a catalyst for higher education institutions to work collaboratively across institutions to employ effective methods to advance academic and administrative excellence. To help carry out that purpose, we identify leaders of change throughout higher education to recognize them for their accomplishments, and to help link them with their peers to further leverage the impact of their good work.

Each of our institutions of higher education has leaders of change, but given the diversity of roles that these leaders play in our institutions, they often go unrecognized.  The Maury Cotter Leader of Change (MCLOC) Award identifies and celebrates these exceptional individuals whose efforts have resulted in significant impact in their institutions and beyond.

Who is a Maury Cotter Leader of Change?

A Maury Cotter Leader of Change is an individual who has played a key role in advancing major change in higher education, in academic and/or administrative areas. We are looking to recognize individuals who

  • Have led change and innovation
  • Demonstrated outcomes and impact of those changes for the nominee’s organization
  • Shared or leveraged change beyond their own organization
  • Had outcomes/impact that have been realized by others as a result of that sharing
  • Fostered a culture of innovation and collaboration

How does the MCLOC award benefit recipients and institutions?

Those recognized will have opportunities to:

  • Be recognized through NCCI events and venues, including the 2020 Annual Conference
  • Have their work featured in NCCI’s website, social media, and news releases
  • Join a list of outstanding colleagues from around the world who are leading change
  • Receive a plaque presented at the Annual Conference

The nomination deadline was February 21, 2020. A panel of NCCI leaders will make the final selections for this award. Awardees will be notified by March 20.


Past Award Winners


Dr. Timothy Renick, Senior Vice President for Student Success, Georgia State University


Jake Julia, Vice Provost of Administration and Chief of Staff, Northwestern University


Joy Gates-Black, President, Delaware County Community College
Paula Gill, Vice President of Institutional Effectiveness, Belmont University


Susan Camber, Associate Vice President, Research & Student Accounting, University of Washington
Carol Mullaney, Director, Office of Continuous Improvement, University of Notre Dame
Cathy O’Sullivan, Chief of Staff to the COO, Director, Working Smarter Initiative, University of California System
Katy Rees, Associate Vice President of Administration, California State University San Marcos


Sarah Collie, Assistant Vice President for Organizational Excellence, University of Virginia
Catherine (Kate) Davy, Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, University of Michigan-Dearborn


Deborah Ford, Chancellor, University of Wisconsin-Parkside
Peter C. (Chris) Halladay, Associate Vice President for Organizational Effectiveness, Cornell University
Peggy Huston, Director of Operational Excellence Program, University of California, Berkeley

Latest News

2017 Maury Cotter Leaders of Change Announced

2017 Maury Cotter Leaders of Change Announced

  NCCI Announces Maury Cotter Leaders of Change Class of 2017   WEST HARTFORD, CT (July, 2017) – The Network for Change and Continuous Innovation: Higher Education’s Network for Change Leadership, (NCCI), is pleased to announce the selection of two higher...

read more